vacancies advertise contact news tip The Vault
It's EPIC GIVEAWAY TIME! NEW PRIZE EVERYDAY! [x]
facebook rss twitter

Review: Deepcool Gamer Storm Castle 240RGB

by Parm Mann on 13 July 2018, 15:00

Tags: Deepcool

Quick Link: HEXUS.net/qadvg2

Add to My Vault: x

Test Methodology and Performance

Comparison Coolers

Category Model HEXUS Review Reviewed Price Warranty Product Page
Air be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 4 April 2018 £80 3 Years bequiet.com
Cooler Master MasterAir MA620P March 2018 £75 2 Years coolermaster.com
Liquid Aerocool Project 7 P7-L240 February 2018 £100 2 Years aerocool.com.tw
Cooler Master MasterLiquid ML120R RGB May 2018 £100 2 Years coolermaster.com
Corsair Hydro Series H150i Pro RGB January 2018 £165 5 Years corsair.com
Deepcool Gamer Storm Castle 240RGB July 2018 £96 3 Years gamerstorm.com
Fractal Design Celsius S24 May 2017 £105 5 Years fractaldesign.com
NZXT Kraken M22 March 2018 £90 3 Years nzxt.com

HEXUS CPU Cooler Test Bench

Hardware Components Product Page
Processor Intel Core i7-8700K (overclocked to 4.8GHz) intel.com
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus X Hero asus.com
Graphics Card MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Gaming X Trio msi.com
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4-3200 gskill.com
Power Supply be quiet! Dark Power Pro 11 1,000W bequiet.com
Primary Storage 256GB WD Black PCIe SSD wdc.com
Secondary Storage 1TB Crucial MX300 SATA SSD crucial.com
Chassis be quiet! Dark Base 700 bequiet.com
Monitor iiyama ProLite X4071UHSU-B1 iiyama.com
Operating system Windows 10 Pro microsoft.com

Benchmark Process

Our test platform has been refreshed for 2018 and now includes a hexa-core Intel Core i7-8700K processor overclocked using 1.225v to 4.8GHz across all cores. The 12-thread chip is paired to 32GB of dual-channel G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 memory set to run at 3,200MHz using the built-in XMP profile.

To get a feel for how the coolers compare, CPU temperature is logged while a large 4K video clip is encoded in multiple passes using the freeware HandBrake utility. The workload tasks all available threads for a prolonged period and, in order to provide a stabilised reading, we then calculate the average temperature across all cores from the last five minutes of encoding.

Actual CPU temperature is recorded and we also graph the delta temperature - that's CPU temperature minus ambient temperature. Last but not least, to give you an idea of cooler acoustics, we use a PCE-318 noise meter to measure overall system noise in both idle and load states.

Notes

Our be quiet! Dark Base 700 chassis is set to run with its two stock SilentWings 3 PWM fans - a 140mm front intake and a 140mm rear exhaust - both of which are set to low speed (setting 1) via the integrated fan hub. All CPU cooler fans are set to a 'silent' profile from within the Asus BIOS, and when testing liquid coolers the pump is connected to the motherboard's dedicated water-pump header.

When a radiator is used, it is installed in the roof or rear of the chassis and any bundled fans are configured to push air through the radiator and out of the enclosure.

Performance

CPU cooler testing can be hindered by numerous variables, and though we strive to maintain consistency, even the UK gets the occasional heatwave. Deepcool's Gamer Storm Castle 240RGB was tested in hot and humid conditions, yet still performs well on our overclocked Core i7-8700K.

There isn't a great deal separating high-end coolers when it comes to performance, and we're of the opinion that other key metrics such as appearance, bundle and noise hold just as much sway. When it comes to noise, the very best coolers find an optimal balance between temperature and fan speed. Gamer Storm Castle 240RGB, on an admittedly hot day, is a tad more aggressive than most, resulting in a clearly audible system under full load. The pump, however, is nice and quiet, resulting in barely audible operation when idle.